“I aint seen s**t!” Pt. 2

Cottonmouth: What’s your name again?
Luke: Luke.
Cottonmouth: Luke. Mmm, old school. Biblical. I’m all about the old school. You know that eye for an eye, tooth for a tooth kind of thing. Fire and brimstone. See back then do someone wrong, wasn’t no beggin’ and pleadin’. Just took care of it. Handled your business.
Pop: What about turning the other cheek?
Cottonmouth: Mmm. Jesus saves. I don’t.

Hello Bingers! Welcome to Part 2 of my Luke Cage post! Last time I wrote, I was only on either episode 2 or 3 of the series, and I really wanted to get further along before I wrote an actual blog on the show. So here I am! I have finished the first season (the only season), and I can say that Marvel has definitely touched my superhero-lovin’ heart once again.

I won’t lie when I say that I was partial to DC’s tv shows such as Flash, Arrow, and now Supergirl; however, I truly believe that Marvel has done something great by partnering up with Netflix to release its shows.

Unlike DC, Marvel is not hindered by regular television rules such as language usage, sexual content, and how gruesome it can or can’t be. I truly believe this is one of the biggest reasons why Luke Cage is as amazing as it is.

Stereotypically, Harlem is seen as a hard place, but it is also seen as the birth place of African American culture, and I think that’s what makes this show so beautifully done. The makers do so well at blending the culture and history of Harlem with a modern day superhero show.

If you don’t know who Luke Cage is, I don’t blame you. He’s another superhero on a long list of Marvel’s heroes, and I had no idea who he was. I googled for quite a while to try and understand who he was. Apparently he even made an appearance on Jessica Jones before his show was aired.

It’s a pretty great show though. It’s very different though because there are very few white people in the show. It’s a nice change of scenery for a show such as this. Like I said in my last post, the music is wonderful. It brings even more of the culture of Harlem into the show.

However, I think there is something more magical about a bulletproof, African American superhero, and I just think it’s something that really needed to be gifted to the world right now.

But now that I have finished the first season, I can say that the season leaves you with burning questions: will the doctor succeed in his experiment? Will justice prevail? Will Luke get out and finally get his coffee 😉 Watch the show, and you’ll know what I mean!

I guess I should also explain the title as well. It’s not that big of a deal honestly, but whenever a cop asks a person what they saw in the show, the person’s response always ends up being, “Man, I ain’t seen shit!” It’s quite comical actually! I want to get it on a coffee mug personally. Not sure if my grandmother would approve though.

Well, that’s all I have for you guys this week! Check back next week for my review on one of the newest series that was just released, Risen. 6 people rise from their graves and live again… not as zombies, but as living people. Why? How? I guess I’ll just have to see!

Binge on!

XOXO
Sarah Hocott

5 thoughts on ““I aint seen s**t!” Pt. 2

    1. Haha! Well, most of the series I choose because they only have one season, so they are easy to work through. I watch on average 2 episodes a day, so it’s not too hard. They are my study breaks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

