Another GREAT Virus Show… Minus the Zombies

Hey guys! It’s me again. And this week I am bringing to you a review about a very different type of show than the Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. This week’s blog is all about the Between. It’s a Netflix Original that has 2 seasons with 6 episodes each.

Why did I choose this show? Well, the main reason I chose it was because it only had 12 episodes and it had Jennette McCurdy! Don’t recognize that name? You might recognize her face!

tumblr_me073vugsk1qesmejo1_500
Yupp! Folks, this is Sam in iCarly played by Jennette McCurdy!

However, the Between is a far darker show than iCarly. McCurdy takes on the role as a pregnant teenager named Wiley Day that lives in the town of Pretty Lake. She is the daughter of a pastor and the sister to a very devout girl named Melissa.

I’m not yet quite sure if Pretty Lake is a real place or not, but I do know that it takes place in the United States; however, the government is run by a Prime Minister instead of a President, and she is a horrible person. (You should all hate her lol! But really though.)

Within the first 30 minutes of the show, you see almost every parent in the town die. Since there’s only 6 episodes in a season, they move pretty quickly with the plot (thank goodness it’s not another Pretty Little Liars!) Then the genius nerd named Adam finds out that only people ages 22 and up die. How is that possible? I’m not quite sure honestly… They explain it in the second season as a biological timer, but I still don’t get it. Whatever. It works for the storyline at least!

I can say that this is one of the most depressing shows I’ve seen in a while, but it’ll definitely keep you on the edge of your seat. I think I cried a good 3 times throughout the show. The first time was in either the end of the 1st episode or the end of the 2nd. I don’t know, but I did cry multiple times. It just hit me at home though because Pretty Lake is the size of my own home town, so I just kept thinking, “What if this happened to my town?”

The government ends up fencing in all of the surviving children and leave them to fend for themselves; however, the government lies and tries to tell the world that they are taking care of the children. FUNNY STORY! THAT’S THE BIGGEST GARBAGE EVER!

I’m sorry, but this show has turned me into a conspiracy theorist when it comes to big pharmaceutical companies. I don’t want to spoil the ending for you, but as a marketing major, it’s the sickest/most successful form of marketing ever for medicine. AKA this huge company releases the virus on purpose so they can make bukos off of their cure. Of course, it doesn’t exactly turn out that way because everyone always wins…. right?

Lol.

I’ll just leave that one for you to find out.

In the end, I’m really glad I watched this show. It was really short-lived, but it definitely filled a gaping hole in my heart. So if you’re ever stuck in a #showhole, scroll on over to Between, and just watch the first episode. I promise you’ll be hooked after the first.

I promise, there are no zombies. At least, no one dies and comes back to life…. (Just make it to Season 2 and you’ll see what I mean.)

So if you’re one of those people that likes the serious shows with action and drama, hit this up! You wont’ be disappointed. I felt at some points that the acting was awkward (#AdamIsRealAwkard), but it’s very addicting.

P.S. I am happy to tell you that this Netflix show has minimal profanity, no nudity, and no gruesome death scenes 🙂 Definitely a total opposite to Orange is the New Black and House of Cards. ❤

Binge on my friends!

Xoxo
Sarah Hocott

One thought on “Another GREAT Virus Show… Minus the Zombies

Leave a Reply

